First Council elects leaders

The first NUST Council members have been very active since they were appointed by the Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation, Dr Itah Murangi-Kandjii, in August this year.

This is the Institution’s first Council since the Polytechnic of Namibia was transformed to the Namibia University of Science and Technology.

The Council held its Induction Session for new members early in September, followed two weeks later by a Governance Workshop. At its first official inaugural meeting held on 26

September, fellow Council members elected a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson. Adv Esi Schimming-Chase is the new Chairperson and Goms Menetté the Deputy Chairperson.

Schimming Chase is a practising Advocate of the High Court of Namibia, specialising in civil, commercial and consulting litigation. She also serves as President of the Namibian Bar Association.

Menetté is the Deputy Auditor-General and Permanent Secretary in the Office of the Auditor-General. He is a Board Member of the Government Institutions Pension Fund (GIPF) and is also the Chairperson of the Government Investment Committee Fund. Menetté serves as a member of the International Organisation of Supreme Audit Institutions Financial Audit

Guidelines Subcommittee (INTOSAI) and the Batswana Ba Namibia Board of Trustees.

The Council members will serve a term of three years as prescribed in the University of Science and Technology Act.

Friday, October 14, 2016
for Month: 
October, 2016

Contact Us

The Namibia University of Science and Technology welcomes all queries and suggestions via our contact page. For detailed enquiries please fill in our Advanced Enquiries form on the main Enquiries page.

Private Bag 13388 Windhoek, Namibia 13 Storch Street Windhoek, Namibia +264-61-207-9111 +264-61-207-2444

Online Enquiry

Please take the time to properly fill out the Enquiry form! This helps us in determining who would be the best contact person to help you further.